Twenty of Canada’s top researchers and engineers including Dr. Jeff Dahn, this year’s winner of the Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering, were honoured at Rideau Hall for their longstanding commitment to making discoveries and innovations that can be found in virtually every aspect of society.

An award ceremony celebrating 20 of the nation’s top researchers has been arranged at Rideau Hall where His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, have been joined by the Honourable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science, and Dr. B. Mario Pinto, President of the NSERC. The ceremony celebrates the outstanding achievements of recipients who received six NSERC prizes totalling $3.72 million,

The twenty top researchers and engineers have been involved in number of discoveries and innovations that can be found in virtually every aspect of society, from the slim batteries that power our smartphones to sensor technology that can detect easily preventable diseases.

Dr. Dahn is known for his pioneering work in lithium-ion battery technology. From conducting fundamental studies on all of the materials used in lithium-ion batteries, to co-inventing some of the positive-electrode materials used in lithium-ion cells for power tools, grid energy storage and electric vehicles, Dahn’s research has contributed to making these long-lasting batteries part of our everyday lives.

In June of 2016, Tesla Motors, the world leader in electric-vehicle and grid energy-storage technology, the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) and Dalhousie University formed the NSERC/Tesla Canada Industrial Research Chair, with Dahn as the chairholder. This is the first and, to date, only time the company has partnered with a university researcher.

The NSERC Herzberg Gold Medal in in honour of the memory of Canadian Nobel laureate Gerhard Herzberg it is the agency’s highest honour. It provides recipients with $1 million in discovery research funding over five years.

Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada Prize Recipients

Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering
Jeff DahnDalhousie University
NSERC John C. Polanyi Award
Sylvain MoineauUniversité Laval
Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering
André LongtinUniversity of Ottawa
Leonard MalerUniversity of Ottawa
NSERC Gilles Brassard Doctoral Prizes for Interdisciplinary Research
Amir AbdiThe University of British Columbia
Madeleine Bonsma-FisherUniversity of Toronto
E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowships
Tomislav FriščićMcGill University
Elizabeth GilliesWestern University
Darren GrantUniversity of Alberta
Christian LandryUniversité Laval
Raquel UrtasunUniversity of Toronto
Thilo WomelsdorfYork University
Synergy Awards for Innovation
Category 1: Small- and Medium-sized Companies
Guy DumontThe University of British Columbia
Industrial partner:Lionsgate Technologies
Category 2: Large Companies
Laurent DrissenUniversité Laval
Industrial partner:ABB Inc.
Category 3: Two or More Companies
Zhangxing (John) ChenUniversity of Calgary
Industrial partners:Brion Energy Corporation
Computer Modelling Group
Foundation CMG
IBM Alberta Centre for Advanced Studies
IBM Canada Ltd.
IBM Research
Nexen Energy ULC
Suncor Energy
Category 4: Colleges
Maroun MassabkiOptech CCTT, Cégep André-Laurendeau
Marc-André BlaisOptech CCTT, Cégep André-Laurendeau
Richard LangOptech CCTT, Cégep André-Laurendeau
Erick JarryOptech CCTT, Cégep André-Laurendeau
Patrick OrsiniOptech CCTT, Cégep André-Laurendeau
Industrial partner:Dental Wings
Previous ArticleNext Article
Lawrence John is a senior editor at TopExaminer. He has worked in the retail industry for more than 8 years. He loves to write detailed product reviews.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *