Home USA US forbids passengers from carrying large electronic devices from 10 airports

US forbids passengers from carrying large electronic devices from 10 airports


The United States transportation safety administration (TSA) on Monday has forbidden passengers coming in from 10 airports from bringing with them larger electronic gadgets excluding cellphones.

This ban is effective for the passengers of airlines from 10 airports in Middle-east and North African. The devices which are banned include laptops, cameras, tablets, portable DVD players and other electronic items. These devices can be carried only via the check-in luggage which goes in the flight cargo. The airports from where the airlines whose passengers have been barred to carry devices include Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Qatar, United Arab Emirates, Egypt, Turkey, Kuwait and Morocco.

According to the Department of Homeland Security, this decision is taken as a precautionary measure to any possible terrorist threat in the future considering the previous terrorism attack attempts in Somalia and Egypt. Justifying the decision, officials also said that there have been cases of terrorist hiding explosives in such devices which have led them to such a step. The decision was relayed to affected airlines via mail – in which they were asked to bring this rule in effect in 96 hours.

The few major airports among the 10 airports that will be impact by the ban include Dubai International Airport, UAE and Abu Dhabi International Airport, and the list of airlines that have been affected by this include Royal Air Maroc, Turkish Airlines, Egyptair, Emirates Airline, Etihad Airways, Kuwait Airways, Qatar Airways, Royal Jordanian Airlines and Saudi Arabian Airlines.

This is another major decision from Trump administration after they enforced a travel ban for people from six Islamic nations.